Year in review (kind of)

Yet again I’ve managed to go an entire academic year without posting. It is june and I am one month away from graduating with a Masters in General Management from the Vlerick Business School in Belgium. I don’t intend for this to be a wrap up of the year but I do have to say that it has been interesting, informative and worth it. I believe I chose the right school at the right time. It’s recent rebranding fit with what I was looking for in a school and the name and network has given me something to connect with in this country. I have also received the education, both academic and experiential, that I was looking for. While one can always want and expect more, I was looking for the tools and thoughts of the business world and I am pretty sure I got what I sought.

Of course its not like me to stray to far from the things the interest me. So for my final internship with the school, I approached a professor and director of the Forum for Social Entrepreneurship. While I don’t want to say to much, I found a project that fit perfectly. I developed strategy, used past experience, learned from others and am pumping out a business plan for the Forum. Simultaneously identifying the resources of the school that could be used for social entrepreneurship, finding ways to involve the students, and convincing the school it needs to be done has been a great experience. I have learned much about social entrepreneurship in Belgium and am as excited as every about the leveraging of resources and development of strategies that incorporate and integrate positive societal and environmental impact into their activities and structure. Things are going well, I’m learning lots and the world keeps right on going!

Below are a few images to describe a bit about the year:

599184_621285681231929_680255094_n

Hult Prize, London

In March I went to London with a group of MBAs and another Masters student to compete in the Hult Prize. This is a social entrepreneurship accelerator challenge (like a social enterprise business plan competition) where teams compete in creating a social enterprise that addresses the specific challenge chosen that year. For our year it was Urban Food Insecurity. It was a great experience and my first time in London!

Shelterbox Response Team Training, Cornwall, England

IMG_06442013 was the first time I’d been to England and I somehow ended up there twice. I went to Cornwall for the last of the training to become a Shelterbox Response team member. I spent a blog worthy week out in the rain, nearly 100km wind and hail to finally become an SRT! We’ll see how it works schedule wise but I am happy to finally be a part of the team.

480325_4785683641438_1319733518_n

 

 

 

And a whole lot of school!

556670_500246986662707_1381217162_n

258845_4998226724319_1523237054_o

One thought on “Year in review (kind of)

  1. Wow, Hunter! I’m really proud of you, it looks like you are doing exactly what you were made for and loving it. Keep doing what you’re doing and you’ll keep inspiring others :)

Leave a Reply

